So a while ago I posted something on TSM called Toke One – about the difference(s) between high school and college math classes, and this is… well… an expansion.

Let me tell you, it was quite satisfying to see a real live adult standing at the whiteboard struggling with a logarithm today.  Admittedly, it would have been better had I not been standing at the whiteboard a few problems down, but you take what you can get.

Actually, I take that back.  Last year, I got to see an adult struggling with logarithms almost every day.  Except it was the same adult every time.  And he was my teacher.

So that’s one difference between high school and college.  Another would be the amount of time spent on different activities.  It would seem that class time is divided proportionally:  25% of class is for announcements and homework, 50% is for a lecture on one chapter, 25% is for example problems.  This does not vary.  It’s the same for a 40 minute class as it is for a 140 minute class.

And thus, the conclusion:  Dear God.

When you boil everything down, we’re covering the same amount of material in college that we did in high school.  We just spend a really freaking long time doing it.

And one more difference for the day – you knew it was coming – the smoke.  And here, I will reveal the answer to the question I posed on TSM:  High school and college students both return from break smelling like smoke.  The question was, what kind of smoke goes with which group of students?

College = cigarettes.

High school = pot.

Why?  It’s simple.  In high school, you need drugs for everything to be blurry and nonsensical.  In college, blurry nonsense is standard.

Side note:  Thanks to my new followers!  I didn’t think the longer posts were very popular, so I was about to quit writing them.  Will definitely be posting more often on here now.

