You know how there are some people that take initiative, finish assignments early, and are actually responsible?

I am so not one of them.

I actually don’t have a problem with doing something ahead of time if it’s quick and easy.  However, if an assignment looks hard or time-consuming, I rarely even look at it until the last minute.  Think of it this way:  If something’s going to confuse me and stress me out, I don’t want to know about it.

Helloooooo psychology.

I’m pretty sure that my psychology class is turning me into a mental patient.  It’s an online class, so I basically have to do all the reading and teach the material to myself.  We hardly have any assignments, but believe me, the ones that we do have are completely insane.

On the surface, they tend to look simple.  Write an example of a sleep disorder.

Sounds easy enough.  I write the example, keeping in mind every single one of my professor’s nit-picky regulations.  And I turn it in, feeling pretty confident in my work.

And I get it back.

It’s getting to the point now where I have a miniature panic attack every time I get a notification that grades have been posted.  Your example of an independent variable didn’t mention a control group.  Your experiment only proves correlation, not causation.  You shouldn’t have left out the things from your source that had absolutely nothing to do with your argument.  Minus points, minus points, minus points.  I’ve always gotten A’s on assignments, and the guy has me thanking the Lord for anything above a C-.

I’ll get him, though.  Our next unit focuses on learned responses.  I’ve already got an example prepped for that one:

Defluo Neminem was in a class that had very high and confusing expectations.  It got to the point where, every time her professor sent out an email with comments on people’s work, her adrenaline levels would increase and her sympathetic nervous system would go into overdrive.  Eventually, she suffered a heart attack and sued her professor.  In the middle of the courtroom, her professor was about to lose the case.  His lawyer called for a recess.  Defluo’s professor used the time to send her an email.  When she saw it in her inbox, she blew an artery and died despite knowing that there was no way any grades could have been posted during that time.  Defluo’s professor took advantage of her learned response to his email to keep from losing the case.

Eh, never mind.  He’ll probably say it’s too similar to the example in the textbook.

