Ever heard of Andy McKee?  (If not, look him up on YouTube because he’s awesome.)

I spent the entire summer trying to learn one of his songs on guitar.  I got it down, kind of.  Then I recorded myself.

I honestly thought I was playing slow.  When I listened to the original song and compared it to how I’d played it, it was kinda like “This is your guitar.  This is your guitar on steroids.”

So I tried again, playing at a speed that felt exaggeratedly slow.  And, once again, I listened to the recording.

Apparently it’s not possible to get a speeding ticket on an instrument.  Believe me, I would know.

After a few more tries, I was nowhere near the speed that he’d played in the video.  I could get it slowed down a decent amount, but it was still too fast.  I ended up putting my guitar back to standard tuning so that I could play something else.

And I forgot about it.  Until I saw a CD of his at the library and decided to check it out.

The third song on the album was the one I’d been trying to learn.

I’ll give you three guesses as to how fast he played it on the album.

The key word in that sentence would be ‘fast.’  And I swear to you, the guy didn’t miss a single note.

Sigh.  Back to the soundboard.

