I’ve been fighting tooth and nail against the whole ‘independence’ thing for a long time.  It’s not that I have anything against being self-sufficient, it’s just that… well… once I know how to do things like mowing the lawn and starting the laundry, I have to actually do them.

That I have a problem with.

Take today, for instance.  I had to vacuum the house.  Attachments and everything.  And it was boring.  That, and the noise was horrible.  Even if you could find a way to read a book or go online while running the vacuum around, the noise would be too much of a distraction.

So I used it to my advantage.

I started singing.

Bohemian Rhapsody.

Loud.

So maybe I wasn’t paying as much attention as I could have been.  Maybe I was shoving the vacuum out and pulling it back in like it was my dance partner.  Maybe I was taking a little bit too much advantage of the swivel steering mechanism.  Either way, I still sucked up the rug.

Twice.

And my father’s sock.

And the living room curtains.

And let me tell you, that totally ruins the mood.  “SOMETIMES WISH I’D NEVER BEEN BORN — SCCCCHHHHHHHHHHHXXXXXXXXXXXXXXZZZZZZ!”

And then you have to stop the entire concert and wrestle with the vacuum, which ends in a giant cloud of dust exploding out along with whatever it was you sucked up, which really defeats the purpose of vacuuming in the first place.

So honestly?  Even if you find a way to make chores more interesting, they’re still chores.  And your inventions can backfire, and when that happens… well.

It really sucks.

