I don’t like it.

At the moment, I’m sitting here doing this instead of working on an essay.  When the fear of not turning it in before midnight outweighs the inconvenience of having to put the butt in the chair and write the damn thing, I’ll start working on it.

I’d say I have about fifteen minutes before I get to that point, so in the meantime…

What exactly is it about work that’s so objectionable?  Even now that I’m in online classes and I don’t have to get up before the crack of dawn to do the work, the work is still… bleh.  I guess there’s the risk of failure, but still.  My professor grades homework based on completion, so that isn’t really a factor.  There’s the fact that I’m having to do things that don’t interest me and are not the way I want to spend my time (although since I lounge around in bed until noon, I’m not the best person to tell you what’s a waste of time).

Nah, I have to say that the thing that sucks about work the most is the deadlines.

You have to do something by a certain time, or you’re a dead man.  That is what deadlines are.  Now, some would say that this only bothers me because I put things off until the last minute.  I disagree.  Five hours until midnight – that’s about three times the amount of time I need to write a rough draft.  Last minute, my ass.

Another problem: Deadlines force you to do work when you don’t feel like doing work.  Personally, I feel like being productive maybe once a year.  Deadlines make me be productive anyway.  True, I’m resentfully productive, but I’m still productive.

The bottom line is that if there were no deadlines, I would do no work, and that’s perfectly fine with me.

