Well, stepping away from online classes (which I took almost exclusively during fall and winter quarter) was a good decision.  I had a lot less free time, but I met some amazing people… and probably would have met many others if I wasn’t still adverse to starting conversations.  This summer, I’ll hopefully be able to write down the stories (and… yes, quite a few epic fails) that stuck in my mind.  Anyhow… I took my last final a week ago, so here’s how my vacation is shaping up:

Day One: Thursday.  I sit in my math classroom for about half an hour longer than necessary before getting up to hand in my test.  When I do walk out, I expect to feel relief… joy… something other than a sense of sorrow and purposelessness.  I wander the campus for a while with tears running down my face.  I really need a life.

Day Two:  Friday.  I sleep in, and my parents are both out of the house, so I have the day to myself. I spend a few hours online and discover a website: Rate My Professors.  I am shocked to discover that my math professor received the same overall rating (2.3) as a professor who was apparently horrible enough to warrant being called “a HUGE butt munch.”  I wonder if ‘butt munch’ is really two words.  It seems like it should only be one.  I ponder this problem while eating leftover takeout in front of the cat.

Day Three:  Saturday.  My mom and I get up and go shopping.  Less than an hour is spent pretending to be a rock star at Guitar Center.  This is unacceptable.

Day Four:  Sunday.  Father’s Day.  Most of the time was spent waiting for my father to wake up.

Day Five:  Monday.  Ordinarily, I would have gotten up at Holy God o’clock and gone to class.  Today, I sleep in and then spend half an hour looking up instructions for drawing comics.  Every so often, a bolt of lightning strikes my heart.  Then I remember that class is over, and I’m not putting off anything important by spending some quality time with my eraser.  Who even invented perspective, anyway?

Day Six:  Tuesday.  I awaken from a dream in which I actually talked to someone from my math class.  They’re really nice.  We have some common interests.  I’ll probably never see them again, so I hit the snooze button.  Then I get up and eat frozen waffles.  Like, actual frozen waffles.  Toasters are for people with work ethics.

Day Seven:  Wednesday.  I decide to make a list of things I want to do this summer.  Not on the list:  Learn to drive.  Get a job.  Organize closet.  On the list: Snuggle guinea pigs.  Beat high scores on video games.  Eat cake.

Day Eight:  Today (looking at the clock, now yesterday).  Guitar lesson. When I get back, I add a few things to my list.  One of them:  Catch up on blog.

Check.

